George Makeup and Skincare Haul & First Impressions

Welcome back! I hope everyone’s having a lovely day!

So, I’m hoping most of the you have heard of Asda (I believe it’s just like Walmart in the Us?), and therefore heard of George (the clothing section)! Well was I the only one to recently find out that they do makeup? If not, then did you know they do makeup?! Like the little makeup junkie I am at the moment, I decided to pick up a few bits.. & I thought why not a do first impressions in case there are still some of you that haven’t heard!

As you might already know, my favourite mascara at the moment is the George Curl Me Mascara, and I found it in Asda a couple of months ago but they only had one mascara and a couple of powders out, so I also picked up my Get Set Mineral Powder whilst I was at it! Apart from that, I didn’t know they done so much makeup! Last night James and I were walking around and there was a whole section of it,  I couldn’t resist! 

I just want to point out as well, how God damn cleap they were! For someone like me, who can’t really afford makeup but breaks the bank to get it.. Then knock yourself out! Nothing I bought was more than £4! Yay!

So I bought myself a few things… More than I should have! 

George Under Eye Concealer – 01 Light
George Fibre Lash Mascara – Black
Queen Bee Bronzer – 01 Honey Bronze
George Creme Blush – 1 Marshmellow
George Lipstick – 06 Beige Bliss
George Satin Soft Eye Pencil – 02 Rich Brown
Garnier Moisture Match Illuminating Light Lotion
Nspa Youthful Eye Cream

____________________________________________________

George Under Eye Concealer
imageimageHonestly, I have never been more shocked before. The packaging definitely caught my eye, it is just so different and simple, I unfortunately couldn’t swatch them in store, so I just bought the colour I thought would best suit me. I kept the receipt just in case! Luckily for me, I don’t think I could of picked a better concealer! I used this today under my eyes, my forehead, chin, nose and cupids bow and can I just say…Wow! I was not expecting a lot from this product as there are so many good ones, I just assumed. I have a pink undertone in my skin, and I was surprised to find out that this concealer had a very strong pink undertone.. at first I was skeptical, but after applying it I was so happy with the results! The coverage is impressive, the colour match is perfect, it blends beautifully, it’s so hydrating and creamy, it has not yet settled into any of my fine lines! It also done a pretty good job of covering those awkward dark circles of mine! I think I’m well on my way to having a new favourite concealer! Oh my…

George Fibre Lash Mascara
imageI’m not going to lie, the only reason I bought this product because the term ‘fibre lash’ is a big part of a certain other 3D Mascara that I have been desperately wanting to try… I didn’t know what to expect, so when I finally tried it out, I was both relieved and dissapointed. The good news is that it gave my lashes incredible length and volume, which are the main things I like in a mascara… like many others I imagine, So why were you dissapointed? The bristles on the brush were so short, and I just found that it clumped my lashes really easily, I had to go over them with my Curl Me Mascara to separate them, and then it was all a big mess for a little while.. but once I got it sorted I did quite like it. I will have to keep you updated on that item!

George Lipstick
imageimageSo I bought this lipstick not having a clue what colour it was, if it was matte, or if it lasted at all! But I bought it anyways! oops.. I got the colour ‘Beige Bliss’ as it was what sounded most nude to me, and the other colours were pink.. I was just hoping for the best. When I got home and opened it, I was a little bit dissapointed that it wasn’t matte.. it had a shimmer, but after applying it I actually quite liked it. It was very creamy and pigmented, so I’m not overly dissapointed. You never know I might come to adore it with time.. probably! 

George Satin Soft Eye Pencil
imageI bought this product not knowing what I was going to use it for! I got it in ‘Rich Brown’ as I have other coloured pencils, but not this one. I didn’t know if it was an Eye Liner, a Brow Pencil or what it was.. it just said Eye Pencil, so I swatched it on my hand last night, and it’s a really gorgeous deep brown colour. How did I use it? I tried out a few ways. I used it to fill in my brows but it was too dark! I then used it to line my waterlines but I wasn’t too keen on the colour for that area so instead I ran it through the roots of my lashes, top and bottom, to create a fuller lash line and honestly I really like it! I smoked out my lower lash line with an eye shadow of a similar colour and I was really happy with the results. The pencil is an ‘extendable’ one.. if that makes sense. I’m not sure of the proper term. Basically, you twist the bottom and the pencil comes up! Fabulous explanation Billie! I really like that about any kind of pencil or liner, although mine seemed to be broken and if you hold the pencil at the wrong angle it would just fall down so you have loads!

Queen Bee Bronzer
imageSo I bought a bronzer! I don’t own many and truthfully I find that most are too orange for my skin, so I bought this product thinking why not try something new!? I got the lightest colour ‘Honey Bronze’ which is a matte shade. The colour is really nice, it is still a little bit warm for my skin tone, but it blends out nicely so it doesn’t look heavy. This might be good for some people and bad for others, for me I don’t mind it but the bronzer itself smells of talc, a lot like talc! Like I said I don’t mind, but it is extremely powdery and crumbly, if that makes sense! So far, I don’t mind it but i’m not blown away! Can’t complain for that price though!

George Creme Blushimage
I have wanted a creme blush for a while, but avoided them as I was more of a matte girl and I love my powder blushes! But I feel like I am going to LOVE this product! It’s really creamy, good pigmentation and it blends like a dream. I applied it to my cheek last night and was shocked at how lightweight it felt, and the colour is just gorgeous! So happy with this product so far! I’m hoping that won’t change either!

Garnier Moisture Match Illuminating Light Lotion
imageSo I have been put off any ‘illuminating’ moisturizers, primers, foundations etc, simply because I love a matte finish, I don’t want to look shiny and greasy/oily and I feel like that is what will happen to me, so in the past I have tended to avoid them. I don’t know why this product caught my eye, but it did. & my first impression is a good one! It says that it has 24 hour Hydration, which is again why I think I bought it. Anything Hydrating is coming home with me! It has a lemon extract and SPF 20 as well. I applied the product last night and honestly, it didn’t feel greasy, oily, heavy, nothing! It gave me a gorgeous glow, my skin felt amazing, it felt hydrating, it smells lovely & so far I am loving this! I applied this underneath my foundation today and it made me look so natural! Kind of like a ‘no makeup, makeup’. I’m going to love it, I know it!

Nspa Youthful Eye Cream
imageI never thought I would be purchasing an eye cream just yet, at least hoping not, but I felt I needed one to sort out those annoying fine lines and those dark circles! So here’s the thing, I applied this as directed last night before bed, and when I woke up this morning my lines were pretty much non existent, and my eye’s just generally looked brighter and more awake. I was blown away. I applied it again before makeup, and I will again tonight! I cannot wait to see the long term effects of this product if that was only after one application! So far I’m loving it!

If anybody has any of these products and wants to let me know how you feel, or give me some recommendations please leave me a comment! I am sorry that I have babbled on for so long, but I got a little bit excited!
Until next time..

B xoxo


Leave a Reply

