What I Found In Wilkinsons

If you are from the UK then I am guessing that you know what Wilkinson is or ‘Wilko’. It is basically a shop where you can buy anything for your home such as decor, gardening bits and bobs, cleaning products, DIY & so I found out today.. Makeup. I knew you could get skin care from this place so as I went cruising around the beauty isles I halted dead in my tracks when I saw a makeup section. oh no…

IMG_0726-0

They have their own range of beauty tools and skin care and four little sections of makeup. Maybelline, Rimmel, Collection & Essence. I however had never heard of essence.. oh dear lordy.. 

This little booth pulled me in. The packaging of the products were gorgeous and after my legs had dragged me over, the price pulled me into putting a whole load of products in my basket. It is so damn cheap!!!!!  I’m weak.. 

So this is what I picked up!

*WARNING* This post is going to be so bloody long, I do apologise! 

 Wilko Powder Brush

£4

IMG_0710IMG_0709

So the first thing that drew me in as I walked down the beauty isle was this brush. They had a load of brushes on show and as soon as I felt the bristles I was sold. It is super soft and it’s so big. My powder brush at the mo is so cheap and useless.. so I really needed a good old powder brush even if I do have one in the post! Also the brush is made out of really sturdy materials.. I have high hopes for this one!

Wilko False Eyelashes

£1

IMG_0711

I am not a huge false eyelash girl but these looked so natural and subtle that I thought I would try them out. They’re pwetty!

Skin Therapy Light Hydrating Moisturiser & Overnight Calming Blemish Serum

95p for each.

IMG_0712IMG_0713

You all know I am a lover of skincare.. anything hydrating blah blah blah. You’ve heard it all before. Straight in my basket these went!

Clay Time Purifying Face Mask, Hello Fresh Face

£3

IMG_0714

I am on the hunt for a good face mask! This packaging jumped out to me so I thought I would give it a try. I did ‘swatch’ it? Basically just rubbed some on the back of my hand.. it is really thick and feels so moisturising. I’m excited!

Essence Lash Princess Volume Mascara & False Lash Effect Mascara

£3.30 for each.

IMG_0715

Can we just talk about this packaging!? Probably the only reason I bought these, as they are so darn gorgeous and cheap! I tried them out and this was the result…

IMG_0744

I am impressed with them so far. When I first started to apply it I thought it would come out quite clumpy, but the more I worked at it, the better it turned out! So pretty much the opposite to every other mascara. I really like the False Lash Effect Mascara as it gives me a little bit of extra length and volume! Bonus Points… 

Essence Silky Touch Blush

£2.50 each.

IMG_0719

There was a great selection of blushes available! I picked these two as they looked so pretty. I got the colours Babydoll and Summer Dreaming. Of course I swatched them for you!

IMG_0739

I was really impressed with the pigment, this was one little swipe! I love the face that they are not shimmery but they have the slightest most natural sheen to them which will give a gorgeous glowy effect! I want more already…

Essence Stay All Day Long Lasting Concealer

£2.50

IMG_0716

I am really excited about this one. You guys know I am a concealer junkie, and when I saw the ’16 Hour Wear’ sticker on the lid, I instantly thought of my baby.. ‘Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer’. The packaging is really nice and colourful too! I swatched this when I got home and I could not believe how similar the consistency and colour is to my Collection concealer.

IMG_0738

When I first used it, I found that it dries very quickly, and you need more product than what you would with the Collection concealer. But it also looks very natural for such a thick concealer. I like it..

Essence XXXL Long Lasting Lipgloss

£2.30

IMG_0722

I was intrigued when I saw this little tube. It is a long lasting lipgloss but states that it is ‘matt’. Which confused the hell out of me! I’m sure glosses and mattes were complete oposites, but hey ho. When I swatched it, the colour for one is gorgeous! But the consistency is what struck me most as it was more thick, buttery and creamy than a lipgloss and it didn’t have that ‘gloss’ effect. So how can it be a lip gloss? Saying that, it wasn’t completely matte either. It has the slightest sheen to it.

IMG_0734-0

However, it feels so moisturising and it smells soooo good. I am impressed that I can really like a product that confuses the hell out of me..

Essence XXXL Nude Lipgloss

£2.00

IMG_0723

These lip glosses come in the exact same packaging as the XXXL Long Lasting Lip Gloss, but these genuinely are lip glosses.. and really pretty ones too. You know I always go for nudes so these are the colours I got:

IMG_0733

They are really glossy, non greasy or sticky. Plus the pigment isn’t too shabby either! They really remind me of the Makeup Academy Out There Plumping Lip Glosses, but without the tingle!

Essence Long Lasting Lipstick

£2.30

IMG_0729IMG_0728

I love the packaging of these lipsticks! They are really sleek and simple, plus I love the little imprint on the actual lipstick itself. When I swatched them on my arm they feel really moisturising. They are not matte, and have a slight sheen but a pretty one! The pigment isn’t half bad either!

IMG_0736

Again, the name confused the hell out of me.. as it isn’t a matte lipstick. But look at how pretty that colour is!

Essence Long Lasting Lipstick Nude Collection

£2.30

IMG_0731-0IMG_0740-0

How pretty?! I love this packaging more than the original lipsticks. I love a good nude, and when a company can do a mini range on nudes, they have me sold! The 5th colour in the collection was a really pale pale pink, & it is not really my colour as it looks ridiculous on me, but these ones I love! Here are some swatches for you..

IMG_0737

They have pretty much the same consistency to the other lipstick above, but these have more of a sheen to them. They feel really buttery and moisturising! So god damn pretty! My only issue is pigmentation, but they easily build up without feeling thick and cakey. They aren’t the worst pigmented things in the world however! I still like them so far :)

Essence Lip Liner

£1

img_0725-0

So my final item was this lip liner. The colour is so pretty & I actually get on with this pink! For £1 I really need to get some more as I was shocked when I swatched them on my hand and lips. They are super duper pigmented, glide on so easily and effortlessly. This was the colour I purchased..

IMG_0735

This swatch was one stroke of the pencil. I was expecting less pigment as it is a wooden pencil, not a plastic pencil and I find that can sometimes effect it. But honestly I am so impressed with it!

A Little Something Extra

So that brings me to the end of my haul! I did however do a little makeup look for you guys to show you some of the products.

IMG_0741

For this look I used the Volume Mascara with the False Eyelashes. Which I am really loving, as they go on so easily and look so natural! I also used the Stay All Day Concealer, Silky Touch Blush in Babydoll and the XXXL Long Lasting Lip Gloss yes, the ‘matte’ one. I am genuinely impressed so far! I also used my Wilko Powder Brush to apply my face powder & the Skin Therapy Light Hydrating Moisturiser which I think I might fall in love with!

I hope you enjoyed! Let me know your thoughts!
Have you got anything from essence? What did you think?

Until next time,
B xoxo

9 thoughts on “What I Found In Wilkinsons

  1. The lip liner looks good. Lip liner is one thing that I know I should get but I just don’t. I love lipstick but don’t like the idea of paying extra to get a matching lip liner, but at £1 if I could match a Wilko liner with some of my fave shades I would have no excuse. Thanks for the review. x

    Liked by 2 people

  2. My biggest weakness!!! It’s like every single time I find either a thrift store, dollar store or daiso, i can’t help but be drawn to their makeup section and the makeup I have doubles overnight. I love the mascara and the lipstick “wearing only a smile” If I was there I’d buy them in a heartbeat and the brush? OMG I’m just gonna stop now. Gotta say your eyes are gorgeous!

    Like

Leave a Reply

