My Work Makeup Routine

So today’s post is going to be really quick as I have work soon. When I was doing my makeup this morning I thought that I would share with you my work makeup. The atmosphere that I work in is very cold and dry. I work in a frozen food factory after all! Glamorous.. There are certain steps I take that are different from my every day makeup routine, so that I can ensure that my already super dry skin won’t dry out any more than it needs to!

It all starts with skincare!

IMG_5010

On a regular day my makeup is usually the main act and my skin care is a supporting act. For my work routine it is the other way around. I do 12 hour shifts in a cold and dry environment, so making sure that my skin is protected and won’t dry out is my main focus. You may sense a pattern here! I always start by using gels, as they really soak into your skin providing the hydration that I require. I use the Garnier Moisture Match Rejuvenating Hydrating Gel for this. Then I move onto creams, starting with the thicker moisturizers and moving on to the thinner ones. Why? I have no idea, it’s just what I do! I always start by using my Nspa Ultra Hydrate Cream which is great as it really absorbs quickly. Then I go on using Tesco Hydrating Night Cream, Skin Therapy Light Hydrating Moisturiser, Tesco Softening Moisturiser and finally the Nivea Express Hydration Primer. I like adding creams last as unlike the gels which really absorb into my skin, creams soak in but also leave a film on the surface of my skin which really protects my skin from that cold and dry environment.

Make Up

Like I mentioned, my makeup is very minimal for work. I do not wear foundation as I find if I do get dry during the day (or night in this case) then my foundation really clings to my dry areas! I always wear concealer however! Night shifts are monsters behind my under eye circles and bags. I like to conceal those straight away to avoid the awkward ‘I could put my shopping in those bags’ comments during the nights. Which have happened to me before! For this I have been religiously using my Mac Pro Long Wear Concealer as it is full coverage.. which quite frankly I need! I apply this under my eyes making sure that I bring it right down to cover any redness, my eyelids, forehead and chin just to balance everything out.

IMG_5014

I then go in and use my Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer to conceal any little blemishes.

As I am dry and I am going into a dry environment, I don’t really like to set my concealer. I will only set it directly under my eyes to avoid creasing, but everywhere else I will leave for an extra source of moisture!

As always I will go ahead and fill in my brows! I have been loving the combination of Makeup Revolution Mono Eyeshadow – Mocha Love to fill them in and Maybelline Brow Drama Mascara to set them. It is so quick and so natural looking!

IMG_5018

I will then go ahead and curl my lashes then apply mascara just to open my eyes a little bit. For this I use my George Curl ‘Em Mascara. I still love this mascara as it doesn’t clump and really gives me some volume and length to open up my eyes that little bit more!

IMG_5020

For my cheeks I just like to add a little bit of blush. I usually wouldn’t add blush, but as my concealer is full coverage I wanted that healthy glow. For this I used my Gosh Natural Blush and applied it soooo lightly on the apples of my cheeks.

IMG_5016

I like to add a little something to my lips just for the sake of it. I use one of two products and mix them up. I either use my Maybelline Baby Lips or my MUA Lip Liner – Caramel Nougart. Today I used my lip liner as it is the perfect nude colour but is really moisturising at the same time!

IMG_5022

That is it for my makeup and this is the finished look! It is very simple and natural and takes about ten minutes to complete!

IMG_5024

Until next time,
B xoxo

5 thoughts on “My Work Makeup Routine

Leave a Reply

