Beginner Beauty Series | Primers

Finally! My first series! I have been wanting to do a series in sooo long, but I just had trouble figuring out what I wanted to do it on. That was until I was asked on what foundations are good for beginners, so I decided to do a whole series on affordable products perfect for beginners and all different skin types! I have decided to make this a series of ten posts. Including: Primers, Foundations, Concealers, Powders, Blushes, Bronzers, Contour Kits, Mascara, Eyeshadow Palettes and finally Lip products. Not all of these products are necessary for beginners, but it is handy to know! So let’s get the ball rolling and start with my first episode on Primers! 

 _________________________________________________________

There are many great primers out there that are affordable. Of course if you want quality, you are expected to spend that little bit extra but sometimes you can hit gold for half the price! Primers are basically just something you apply before foundation to give your makeup something to stick to so that it doesn’t move throughout the day. There are lots of primers that do all different jobs and are for all skin types. You can get illuminating primers or mattifying primers, primers to help tone down pores.. anything!

300v4g1 - Copy

My first tried and true primer is the Rimmel Stay Matte. This primer is perfect for you oily skinned girls as it tones down your shine and stops your makeup from slipping about throughout the day! It is a very thick consistency but it glides on so smoothly and you can see just how matte it is, even with a little bit. I have had mine now for a good 8/9 months, and I still have quite a left lot over. It lasts forever and is such a great little high street primer!

8579710965_def3b9128b_z - Copy

My next primer is one for us dry skinned gals! It is the Nivea Express Hydration Primer. From the name you can tell that anyone with dry skin is going to love it! It is a gel/milk consistency which glides over your face with ease and is so lightweight and refreshing. Not only can you use it as a primer, I sometimes use it with no makeup on as a moisturiser because it is that refreshing!

Superdrug Glasgow Fort Haul (5) - Copy

This technically isn’t a primer, but I think it works just the same. That is the Maybelline Baby Skin Instant Fatigue Blur. This little bottle is amazing for evening out any uneven skin toned and.. blurring it out! They are scented, so they may not be the best for sensitive skin, but I have sensitive skin and I love it! It is a little bit mattifying, but if you like the matte look then you will be fine! I also love how soft this makes your skin feel, it is just so nice!

Rimmel Lasting finish primer

My final primer is for more normal skin types. It is the Rimmel Lasting Finish Primer. This primer is a thinner consistency than the Stay Matte and applies just the same but it isn’t mattifying. It is just a really nice primer to apply under your foundation to make sure everything stays in place. And boy does it.. this has to be my most long lasting primer. Your makeup will stay in place all day and look just as flawless when it comes to removing it! It is an all round great primer.

Quick Tip: If you want to try out higher end primers but you cannot afford them. Go on eBay and order a sample. These usually cost £3-4 but it is a great way to try before you buy. Then if you don’t like it, you haven’t wasted a tonne of money! This works for other products also such as foundations or concealers.

_________________________________________________________

That my friends round up the first post in my Beginner Beauty Series. Four fool proof primers for a range of skin types and all super affordable!

What are your favourite primers? Do you prefer high street or high end? 

Until next time,
123xoxo

I’m doing a Q&A HERE! Get involved loves!

6 thoughts on “Beginner Beauty Series | Primers

    1. Thankyou! So happy that I finally have started my first series :) I wish I could say thankyou for the photo comment but unfortunately the lighting in my house right now is pretty bad, so I had to resort to google! Boo! But I will say they are good photos! xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

