Glowing With Strobing

Hello blogging buddies!

I’m finally jumping on the bandwagon that is strobing.. a little late I know, but all for good reason. Over the last few weeks, I have discovered this new makeup trend and decided to put it to the test. So what is strobing? As you all probably know by now, strobing is basically highlighting the s**t out of your face. And you all know I’m a sucker for a good highlight! 

980x

After seeing this photo floating around the net over the last few months, I decided that I wanted to try it out. My only issue with this strobing technique was it could be easily overdone, and I wanted to find a good balance of glowiness and highlighting! So for the last few weeks I have been practicing and trying out different ways to make this whole strobing deal a little more wearable for myself personally, and find what works for me.. and maybe some of you too! Today is the day I wanted to share with you how I strobe my face, and also a little bit about the look I paired with it! Let’s jump in..

Skin

Of course, the skin and base of your makeup is the main attraction for this look. Strobing is very clean, fresh and glowy. Perfect for the summer time! To make this look more wearable, I wanted to try and get the glow in my face through different products instead of just the highlighter. This way I could add layers of glowiness and it would still look really natural.

IMG_6460

I first applied my moisturiser. Lately, all I have been using is an illuminating moisturiser to really liven up my skin and give me a dewy finish. There are two moisturisers I love for this, the Garnier Moisture Match Illuminating Light Lotion and the Nspa Radiant Flash Serum. For this look I used my Nspa moisturiser and applied it all over my skin. For the record, this product is life. Just life. 

IMG_6458

I applied a light base as my skin is in pretty good nic at the moment, and I haven’t been a big fan of foundations lately. I love the feeling of a light BB cream to really let my skin breathe. I used my L’Oreal Code Lumiere BB Illuminating Cream. I chose this BB cream specifically for the fact that it is illuminating, and I love it! I have the colour Fair, but it is still pretty dark. What I have noticed once I have applied it, it slightly lightens throughout the first half an hour or so.. like it is melting into the skin. It is just a lovely BB cream.

Of course, I have a lot of darkness around my eyes. Concealer anyone? Of course, no look for me is complete without even the smallest amount of concealer. For this I use two different concealers.

 IMG_6462

The first concealer on my menu of strobing loveliness is my Rimmel Match Perfection 2-in-1 Concealer and Highlighter. I chose this concealer for the pure fact that again it is highlighting and brightening. In the areas where I will go in and strobe, I want to lighten them naturally using brightening products, so that the base for my highlight is already light and I don’t have to use a tonne of highlighter. Did I really just say that? When do I ever use just a little bit of highlighter? Billie are you there? 

Once this is blended in with my miracle complexion sponge, I then took my second concealer. The Makeup Revolution Focus and Fix Liquid Concealer. I personally hate this product as a concealer. It just doesn’t conceal anything. At all.. But, this ‘concealer’ is the perfect shade to add brightness under my eyes. It is such a light shade that wherever I apply it, it naturally brightens up those areas. Just like my match perfection I applied this under my eyes, my forehead, chin, nose, cupids bow and finally a touch on the brow bone. This really brightens up those areas so again, I do not have to apply too much highlighter. Billie?… BILLIE?! 

Finally for my base, I had to set everything in place. I used my Rimmel Match Perfection Loose Powder to bake my concealer. The reason I am baking my concealer is so that it adds another dimension of light to my face. I applied this generously to the areas I applied concealer, and then I also added some just underneath where I would usually apply my contour!

Let’s Strobe!

IMG_6465

Now, it’s time to highlight the shiz out of my face! I’m sure it will come as no surprise to you that I am using my highlight shade from the Maybelline Master Sculpt Kit. I applied this highlighter lightly in the areas that should be strobed. The cheekbones, brow bone, above the arch of the brow, the bridge and tip of the nose, the cupids bow, and a touch on my chin. I then decided that I wanted a little extra glow so I went in and applied a second layer over my cheekbones and cupids bow. Phew, I’m back! 

To finish off the face, I added a little bit of blush to my cheeks for that pop of colour that was so badly needed! I used my Sleek Rose Gold Blush that has a gorgeous gold sheen through it, adding that extra bit of highlight to my cheeks. Yep, I’m definitely back! 

That is the entire look, and all the steps I completed to strobe my face in a way that is wearable for me. I have been practicing this look now for a good few weeks, trying to find what works for me and I honestly love it. Don’t get me wrong though, I’m still a sucker for a killer contour but during these lovely sunny days I think this look is perfect. So fresh, bright and glowy. Yaaaaas! 

So what did I match this look with?

Eyes

IMG_6467

For my eyes, I wanted to go very simple and neutral. I used my Makeup Revolution I am Naked Palette. This palette has three everyday simple colours and three super sparkly evening colours. I used the simple brown shade through my crease, and finished off with the subtle cream shimmer shade on my lid. Simple right?

IMG_6469

I then curled my lashes and applied one coat of my P.S Love Volumising Mascara.

Lips

IMG_6471

I used two different products for my lips, and two very different products for me all together. You know I am a sucker for a matte nude lip, but today I was feeling something.. else. I first applied my MUA Power Pout Lip Tint and Balm. This gorgeous coral red shade was applied on my lips and left for about ten minutes. I then removed it to reveal lovely tinted lips. Now that my lips were a lovely bright pink shade, I then applied my Essence XXL Nude Lipgloss in a really lovely nude pink shade. Now I never use lipglosses.. but this combo I am loving!

That completes this glowy, dewy, strobed look. It is very casual and fresh looking. Personally, I am a really big fan of strobing, and I feel like it will look gorgeous on everyone! Unfortunately I couldn’t get great photos.. but I tried to capture it the best that I could. Which wasn’t very good at all! You can kind of get the jist of it..

IMG_6442 IMG_6441 IMG_6443 IMG_6444

Have you tried strobing? How did you feel about it? 

Until next time loves,
123xoxo

10 thoughts on “Glowing With Strobing

  1. I only heard about strobing within the last few weeks, but I love how it looks! I have yet to try it, but bought some products last week with the intention of trying it so I certainly will! You look beautiful!

    Like

  2. Fabulous post huni, you look gorgeous!!!! Have to say strobing is something I haven’t tried yet, but hopefully I’ll get round to trying it out soon :) Your post will definitely help!!! <3 Karen xo

    Like

  3. I like how you explained the whole strobing trend and your routine. I have a little bit of concern when doing this cause no matter what I do I have insanely moist and oily skin so I end up shinier with highlighter. Do you have any suggestions? I’d really like to try this out though :)

    Like

    1. Thanks love :) I think strobing is about changing it up to suit whoever is wearing it really. As you have oily skin I would just recommend doing your usual foundation routine and setting your face with a powder and then only highlighting areas that you want to be highlighted. So of you get oily on your forehead, avoid highlighting the forehead but if you don’t get oily on your chin or any where else highlight those areas. Make sure it is set with a powder first though to control your natural shine, then you can add shine where you want it :) if that makes sense. I would even say, depending on how oily you get throughout the day, if you are heading anywhere take a mattifying powder with you so that if you do get oily you can quickly fix it. am I making sense? Sorry about the ramble love haha xoxo

      Like

    1. Thankyou love! I was a little skeptical at first incase it made me look oily but I really love it. I would definitely recommend giving it a go! Your welcome love! Xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

