Beginner Beauty Series | Powders

Welcome back you lovely lot!

It’s time for another beginner beauty series post! I didn’t think I would enjoy this series as much as I have, but I have really been looking forward to every post that is included in this series. Today I will be talking about powders for you guys, and some great, affordable powders to add to your beginner makeup kit. Let’s jump to it..

____________________________________________________

Powders are great for so many different things; from creating a matte effect to your skin, controlling oil, to setting your foundation or concealer. There are two different types of powders, both of which are great for different things. You can get pressed powders or loose powders. I would recommend pressed powders for beginners, as they do the same job as the loose powder but it is just less messy. Loose powders are used for pretty much the same thing, but they are great for the baking method; applying a large amount of powder to certain areas to highlight, leaving it for a few minutes then wiping it away. This technique is going to give you a flawless finish, but it does look like a lot of makeup. I wouldn’t recommend this technique for beginners just because it is not necessary. I want to show you some great pressed powders that will be your best friend for different reasons, some for all skin types!

Rimmel Stay Matte

IMG_7061

This powder is highly talked about in the beauty world, for good reason of course. This powder will be great for oily skin. If you have oily skin, it is important to set your foundation to reduce shine. Anything matte is great for oily skin. This powder is super sturdy and will leave you matte as matte can be. Of course, depending on how oily you are, you may want to carry this around with you during the day to touch up in case you look a little shiny. But all in all this powder is great. It doesn’t make your makeup look cakey or too powdery, the colour range is pretty good & you don’t need a lot to make you matte. This powder will be your number one for oily skin.

Collection Pressed Powder

 IMG_7067

This powder is another one that is great for oily skin, but it is also great for setting concealer. If you are dry, and don’t necessarily want to set your foundation, setting your concealer is a must (under your eyes that is). If you don’t set your concealer it will crease, but this powder is great for holding your concealer in place and reducing the risk of creasing. I love using this under my eyes, as it is also very brightening. The only problem I will mention is the colour range. There are not very many colours, but the darker you go the more orange the powder tends to be. For this reason I would recommend this powder to very fair skin. The colour ‘ivory’ (even though it looks stark white) is great for brightening and holding everything in place all day long.

Maybelline The Matte Maker

IMG_7064

I would recommend this powder to anyone who loves a matte finish, but also wants a little bit more coverage. This powder has a really nice formula and will make. you. matte! Like all powders, I would recommend this for oily/combination skin types, but I would also recommend this powder if you are more normal skin, as it will make you matte but it doesn’t cling to any dry patches and will last you all day long!

Max Factor Creme Puff

IMG_7062

This has to be one of my favourite powders. The formula is lovely, and it is not all that drying. For this reason, I would recommend this for more dry skin. If you are like me, and like a matte finish from time to time, then this powder will work great for you. It doesn’t make you look super matte, but it really sets your foundation and leaves you with a flawless base. I find it doesn’t cling to my dry patches as much as other powders do!

Quick Tip: If you have dry skin, and you want a matte finish to your foundation then it is important to exfoliate and moisturise really well. Exfoliating will help reduce any flaky dry patches, and moisturising will help keep your skin hydrated. By adding powder to mattify your face, it is adding a dry texture so it really important to keep your skin hydrated and moisturised.

______________________________________________________________

So these are my for top powders for beginners! I hope you found this helpful! Let me know what you think, if you have tried any of these.

Until next time my loves,
123xoxo

6 thoughts on “Beginner Beauty Series | Powders

    1. Thankyou love! It’s a life saver. I used to be really bad with exfoliating and moisturising, but once you start doing it boy can you see a difference! :) So glad you enjoyed xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Such a helpful post! I suffer with dry skin myself and have found it really difficult to find a drugstore primer that works for me! I’ve just purchased the Bourjois healthy balance powder – have you tried that one before? xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

