Beginner Beauty Series | Lippies!

Well hello my loves!

The time has come. This is my very last of my Beginner Beauty Series! *sniffles*. I feel like this is especially sad for me, not only am I coming to an end of a series I have thoroughly enjoyed (and I hope you have also enjoyed!), but this is also my first post as a 20 year old woman. Being half way to 40 doesn’t sit well with me! Since when did time just go, just like that? I still feel like I have only just left school and I am being thrown head first into adulthood, with not so much as a hat let alone a helmet. Luckily however, today I will be talking about some lip products that are perfect for beginners! If there is one thing I love it’s a good lipstick! Of course, you have to take the good with the bad, the bad being that I really couldn’t pick just four lip products. Yes, we will just go with it and see how we end up. You can’t blame a girl for her love of lipsticks right? Right! Let’s do this…

____________________________________

Finding your perfect lipstick could take some time. Besides why have one perfect lipstick when you could have 10 right? There are so many options available from colours to finishes and formulas. High End or High Street? Gloss or Lipstick? Nude or Bold? It’s a daily struggle! I’ve got you however. I have found some really great affordable finds. There were a few ways I could go about this, but I have decided that I am going to show you some great products whether it be lipsticks, lip creams, lip balms or lip glosses but not specific colours. All of the products I am going to recommend will have a good variety of colours so you can really pick and choose what is best for you! Everybody has different preferences so whether you like the nudest nude or the brightest red, hopefully you will be able to find this post helpful! I also just want to mention that makeup is about experimenting and having fun. If you find a lipstick that is matte but the colour is gorgeous, and you like more glossy lips, it’s fine! Chuck a clear gloss over the top and you will be good to go. Isn’t makeup great like that! 

Lipsticks

loreal-colour-riche-lipsticks-review-1024x834

So let’s start with lipsticks! There are two lipsticks that really stand out for me. The first collection of lippies I want to talk about are the L’Oreal Colour Riche Lipsticks. In my opinion, this range of lipsticks are pure perfection. Not only does the packaging look gorgeous, but the lipsticks themselves are really nice and creamy. They wear so well and they do such a range of colours and finishes, there is literally a lipstick for everyone. They have mattes, shimmery lipsticks, satin finishes, natural glossy lipsticks and a whole range of colours from nudes and pinks to plums and reds. I would highly recommend the matte finishes and the ‘natural’ lipsticks from L’Oreal as they can be worn everyday, morning through to night and they will suit so many people. Great little tubes of loveliness if you ask me!

IMG_4141

The second lipsticks I want to rave about are the Rimmel Kate Moss Lipsticks. Before I tried these, I wasn’t expecting much as I am not the biggest fan of Rimmel in general. These lipsticks are great however. They wear so well and they last too. The pigment is good, the price is right and they have a good range of colours. I really love these lipsticks. The red shades are my favourite as the finish for me, is so lovely. They are not matte, but not too shiny either. These lipsticks are a great staple for your makeup bag and I would highly recommend trying these babies out.

Lip Creams

NYX-Matte-Lip-Creams-Names-1

If you have been hanging around the beauty world for a while, then I am sure you have heard of Matte Lip Creams. If not, these lip products are very lightweight and creamy, some can feel almost like a mouse, that dry down to give you a very long wearing matte lip. These really are long wearing on the lips and they feel like you aren’t wearing anything at all! When I first started getting into makeup, I couldn’t stand putting anything on my lips. I wish I would of discovered these sooner as it really does feel like you’ve got nothing on.  There are two lip creams I want to talk about which are pretty much the same. The only difference is, one is available in the UK and one in America.

IMG_26791

So what are these lip creams you keep talking about? The Collection Creme Puff and the Nyx Soft Matte Lip Creams are both great little matte lip products for all you matte lip lovers. The Collection is available in the UK but the colour selection is quite poor. However, the Nyx lip creams have so many colours you are bound to find one you love. The great thing about the Nyx matte lip creams is that even though they aren’t sold in UK stores, you can purchase them online at either feelunique.co.uk or on eBay. These lip creams are very long wearing and have amazing pigment. Like I mentioned, they are very light weight and would be perfect for any one who loves a matte lip.

Lip Glosses

Essence-I-Love-Nude-XXXL-Lipgloss-1

There are such a range of lip glosses in the High Street. Every brand you come across is extremely likely to have some sort of lip gloss available. I personally find that the Essence XXL Lipglosses are really nice. They last the longest on me and are so affordable! I find that some glosses aren’t really ‘glossy’, but they give more of a sheen to the lip, whereas these will give you that really nice glossy effect. They aren’t sticky and they don’t settle into any cracks or lines in my lips and are just all round great little lip glosses.

Revlon-lip-gloss-all-three

Let’s talk about the Revlon Super Lustrous Lip Glosses for a second. Some of these lip glosses have more of a ‘sparkle’ than the Essence lip glosses, yet they don’t look to ‘child like’ or glittery. I really like the texture of these lip glosses and again they don’t feel sticky or settle into any creases on my lips. They have a good range of colours and I would highly recommend these as well to any of you lip gloss lovers out there!

Lip Balms

baby

Finally we have lip balms! There are a whole range of different lip balms out there. They are great for adding moisture to your lips and also a hint of colour if you prefer. I want to recommend two different lip balms that I find are my absolute favourites. One has plenty of colours and the other is a clear yet extremely hydrating lip balm which is perfect for getting your lips into good condition and adding over lipsticks if you choose. The first ones are of course the Maybelline Baby Lips. These lip balms come in a good range of colours that add a really nice tint to your lips whilst still being moisturising. They aren’t sticky and they don’t cling to dry or flaky areas of your lips. These are perfect for everyday wear when you just need a little colour to pop on and go out of the door. I would highly recommend these as they are as good as everyone says!

winter-skin-care-favourites

The second lip balm is a clear one. The Nivea Hydro Care Lip Balm is a long time favourite of mine. This lip balm is the most moisturising one I have tried. It can be worn alone, over night or over other lip products to add more moisture and shine. I often wear this lip balm over night when my lips are chapped or dry and it really does make a difference. These can be picked up in any High Street beauty store or even your local superstores. I often pick mine up from Tesco’s as they quite often have deals on their skin care. It isn’t sticky and you can apply layers upon layers of this stuff without it ever feeling heavy. This is definitely a holy grail item of mine, and I would highly recommend it!

________________________________________________________________

There we have it folks, we got there! My final Beginner Beauty Series has come to an end, and there are plenty of affordable yet brilliant lip product recommendations for you! I really hope you enjoyed this series as much as I did!

What are your favourite affordable lip products? Have you tried any of the above? 

Until next time,
123xoxo

5 thoughts on “Beginner Beauty Series | Lippies!

  1. Love your post! One question: do you think that the NYX matte lip creams are very drying on the lips? In fall I always have a problem with chapped lips and I wonder if these make it worse. Thanks in advance for replying!

    Like

    1. Thank you love:) I don’t find them drying and you don’t need a lot to get the coverage.. Whereas if you were to load them up and layer them they might be. I have never tried layering them up however but like the collection ones I don’t find them drying at all:) as for chapped lips I don’t really get chapped lips so I have never experienced if they would make them worse. If you have chapped lips I might go for a balm instead just to try and add some moisture then once it’s calmed down wear the matte shades :) xxx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

