Reviews Week | Benefit They’re Real Tinted Lash Primer

Well hello my lovelies!

It is day three into my Reviews week and today’s review is going to be of the Benefit They’re Real Tinted Lash Primer. At first this product confused the hell out of me. “why do you need a primer when you can just apply multiple coats of mascara?” Well I am about to answer that question for you right about…… now. 

Product

So this mascara is marketed as a primer. I think the majority of us have heard of priming or used primers ourselves, but usually it is for the skin. This tinted primer is what you would apply before your normal mascara to make your lashes look longer and fuller without being too clumpy. You can also wear it alone for a more natural lash look, as this primer is tinted brown. It gives the tiniest bit of volume, but more than anything it just coats each individual lash so that when you apply your mascara it is like applying mascara to fuller lashes, which intensifies the overall look.

Packaging

123901017299

I currently own the sample, but I do really like this product so I do plan on getting the full size. It comes in the exact same packaging as the original ‘They’re Real’ mascara but whereas the original mascara comes in a chrome/metal colour, the primer comes in a silver tube.

Price

This primer retails at £18.50. It is more up there in price, but I would spend the money to repurchase this as personally I think it’s worth it! I will explain in a short moment as to why this isn’t really necessary or a must have, but it is a really good product!

Application

DSCN1114

So the wand on this primer is again, just like the original mascara. It comes with a very flexible wand that is small enough to get to those hard to reach areas but large enough that it doesn’t take three hours to do so. I love the bristles on this particular wand also. As there are so many and they are so pointy, they really separate each lash to give the effect of super natural lashes, yet just thicker and more curled. It is really clever as it doesn’t really add any major volume, but it gives each lash thickness and length so that it makes your lashes appear fuller.  Whereas if you were to apply a couple of coats of mascara, your regular mascara may add volume and clump your lashes together even slightly which makes the second coat harder. This one won’t do that, or it will be much less noticeable depending on how much of the product you use. I have personally found it very hard to get this primer to look clumpy, it just doesn’t happen. With a regular mascara, once you apply a second coat I find it can get clumpy and your lashes start to fall straight. Again, this primer will help to prevent that. It is such a simple product but because it is so natural it just enhances your natural lashes so that your mascara goes on looking better and that really is all there is to it. I haven’t even needed to curl my eye lashes since using this primer, and I always curl my lashes!

Personal Opinion

img_9043

Left eye; one coat of primer. Right eye; nothing.

Yes, I am a little bit in love with this. Yes, I would repurchase it. No, I don’t think it is a ‘must have, you need it now’ product. I think if you have shorter or more sparse eye lashes then you will love this, if you already have longer fuller lashes, you won’t need it. If you want it to try then I would recommend it! As it is pricier I don’t think that everyone will want to go for this product, so it really depends.

img_9045

Left eye; one coat of primer and one coat of Mac gigablack lash.
Right eye; one coat of gigablack lash only. 

I just love the overall effect it gives my lashes, they stay curled longer, the look fuller, I only need one coat of mascara for my lashes to look good and it can also look really good on it’s own as a brown, more natural, mascara. I love that it is more subtle and you won’t really notice the difference until you use it on your own eyes, but I really notice the difference from such a subtle product. I love it, and I do think Benefit done a really good job!

____________________________________

There we have it! My review of the Benefit They’re Real Tinted Lash Primer! I hope you enjoyed & until tomorrow my loves…

123xoxo

7 thoughts on “Reviews Week | Benefit They’re Real Tinted Lash Primer

    1. Definitely! It is tinted brown but quite a deep brown and I have worn it before on it’s own. It says on the box as well that is can be worn alone or under mascara. It works great! Thankyou love! xox

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I just started using this along with their Their Real mascara, Love it and it doesn’t end up on the skin under my eye as much as others do. I still have to curl my lashes though, they’re short and straight with the tendency to point downward :/

    Like

    1. It’s brilliant isn’t it! Damn :( I’m quite lucky with my lashes they are a decent length but I find that one eye tends to fall straight quicker than the other but I don’t have that problem with this! I love it! xox

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

