Mac Fix + | Worth The Hype?

Everyone enjoys different parts of makeup in their own way. For some people including myself, concealer can be the most fun part of applying your makeup. Dark circles be gone! For others their makeup may not be complete without a touch of mascara, again including me. It may even be the very end process of setting your makeup and spritzing your face with a good setting sprayonce again… me! 

DSCN1182.jpg

I have only recently discovered the whole setting spray craze, before I didn’t really know what I was missing.. now however, I can’t be without. After trying out the likes of the L’Oreal Infallible Fixing Mist and the Makeup Revolution Amazing Makeup Spray, I decided to take my addiction further and purchase the Queen of all setting sprays; Mac Fix +. Everyone and their mothers rave about this setting spray, so I decided to see whether it was worth the hype. Everyone talks about how this product melts your powders and liquids together leaving you with long lasting and dewy finishes whilst making your highlight visible from space. So what did I go and do? I only went and bought it didn’t I! So was it worth the hype?

DSCN1191

So here is the deal: I got my package through the door, and in obvious kid on Christmas day fashion I start ripping into my box and revealing the beast. Or what I thought would be a beast… this setting spray is actually quite a bit smaller than I imagined it would be. I have tried to show you the comparison next to the average foundation bottle, so you can get an idea on the size. It’s not terrible but I was expecting some hair spray bottle sh*t! So by then I realised I wasn’t paying for quantity so I thought I would put it to the test and pray that the quality comes through.

Okay, so I can tend to show my blonde side every now and then, and it took my damn boyfriend to show me how I spray the damn stuff out. In my defense, the first spray is always the toughest sprayAfter that little miss hap the spray has been perfectly fine. It comes out in a really nice fine mist, although I find that occasionally the first spray can be quite chunky and leave areas of my face drenched, but after pushing through that lovely fine mist eventually comes out of hiding!

DSCN1185

One thing I was a little dissapointed with was the scent. I was expecting a damn spa to throw up on my face, a lovely fresh smelling mist that made me feel awake and ready to face the day. I didn’t get that. I’m not actually all that keen on the scent as it doesn’t smell refreshing to me or even very feminine. I can’t quite put my finger on it, but at least it doesn’t slap you in the face every time you spray it which I will always be thankful for. In all fairness the scent isn’t bad, it just isn’t great either!

With everything said, my opinion completely changed when I applied it. I went from feeling ‘meh’ to ‘oooh’. My face didn’t look powdery, even though I quite frankly powdered the sh*t out of my face, it had a nice healthy glow and my highlight was on point! If I don’t say so myself… I just really liked the finish it gave to my skin. As for my makeup lasting longer? I didn’t really notice a difference. I guess it made the slightest difference it leaving my makeup looking better throughout the day, but I don’t have too much of a problem with my makeup wearing off so I can’t give you a proper opinion on that one! I also used the little trick that many other people like to use with this product. I didn’t use a really metallic eye shadow, just a bog standard shimmery shadow but spritzed my brush with the fix+ first. It really adds to the shine on the lids and I did notice my eye shadow looking better for longer throughout the day.

Please excuse the very awkward close up. I wanted to show you what my skin looked like close up after using all powder products and the finish on the skin once set with fix +! 

DSCN1156.jpg

All in all, this is a nice little setting spray. I haven’t tried anything quite like it, although a few things similar. For the price I think you are definitely paying for quality as the end result is really nice. I just wish that I managed to pick up the scented limited edition version as I am not huge on the scent of the original! So the big question.. was it actually worth the hype? I do think that this product is worth it, but I wouldn’t recommend that everyone runs out and buys it. This is one of those luxury products that if you want to treat yourself and you don’t fancy going back to that same old high street setting spray, then this is a great place to start.

____

Thanks for listening to me ramble on my loves! I hope you enjoyed and please let me know what you think! Until next time beauties!

123xoxo

 

19 thoughts on “Mac Fix + | Worth The Hype?

    1. Thank you love! I must admit it is good! I still love my l’oreal one though :) thank you, I was shocked that I was quite happy with that close up! (It’s obviously my camera 😂) xx

      Liked by 1 person

  1. A while back they did have the Fix + spray in different smells like cucumber which I heard was super refreshing! They should bring that back!

    Like

    1. I know I was really hoping that I could get the coconut one as its one of my favourite scents but I could only get the original! 😔 they should definitely bring that back!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I been really wanting to try this! Thanks for the great review? Question does it have any alcohol in it? I tried looking on the website but couldn’t find list of ingredients.

    Like

    1. I really couldn’t tell you love, it has none of the ingredients on the back so I don’t know. :( I know it does have Glycerin in it though so it can act as a primer too! xox

      Liked by 1 person

  3. i got this for christmas in the travel size because i didn’t know whether i was going to like it or not, but i love it! lovely review:-) xx

    emjbarker.blogspot.co.uk

    Like

    1. It is really nice! I have actually found another setting spray however that when I use the two together it creates flawless + super duper long lasting too!! I’m going to do a blog post about it shortly hehe! :) xox

      Like

  4. Congratulations I’ve nominated you for The Liebster Award! Check out my latest post to see the rules and more details on how to enter from here!

    Like

Leave a Reply

