Makeup Revolution Light & Shade Eye Shadow Palette Review

Boy o boy am I excited for this review! I didn’t even realise that Makeup Revolution had come out with this palette but when I saw it in Superdrug, you know I snatched up the last one on the shelf! Today as you can already tell I am going to review the Makeup Revolution Light & Shade Eye Shadow Palette, a clear dupe for the Kat Von D Shade + Light Eye Palette. I have been using this palette for the last few days and I have definitely got my opinions on this palette already. Let’s get into the review…

__________________________

Product

DSCN1643.JPG

So as you can tell this is an eye shadow palette that consists of twelve eye matte eye shadows. You get three larger pans and four small pans just like the Kat Von D palette. The palette is separated into three sections: neutral, warm and cool and has a whole range of shades from highlights to deep browns and blacks. This palette also comes with a brush, which is actually an upgrade from the usual sponge tips you get in these palettes. It is a double ended synthetic brush with a blending brush on one side and a flat angled brush on the other.

Price

This palette is a clear dupe for the Kat Von D Shade and Light Palette like I have already said ten thousand times! The great thing about this palette is that you can pick this up for the cushty little price of £6!! Yes please! 

Packaging

DSCN1642.JPG

The packaging of this palette is one thing that I am not a fan of. I like how other palettes from Makeup Revolution are packaged, like the Ultra Matte as it feels better quality and more sturdy. This palette however is made out of cheap plastic, it’s very light and just feels on the budget side. What I do like is the rose gold writing as it is a more elegant touch, I just wish the packaging felt more luxury. Another thing on the packaging that I will get into in a moment is the little sticker that quotes ‘new formula talc free’… dum dum duuuum. 

Personal Opinion

So what did I think about this eye shadow palette? I love it! I must say that Makeup Revolution have done a grand job on these eye shadows. I was a little bit worried as I find that there are some inconsistencies with Makeup Revolution eye shadows, the matte ones that is! The Ultra Matte palette is really nice, whereas some of the mattes in bigger palettes such as the iconic or the Flawless palette are very chunky and don’t blend so well. These mattes however I think are my favourite that they have every created! It must be that new formula! They are buttery, smooth, pigmented, really super easy to blend. I really cannot seem to find a bad word about the formula! If I had to be really picky, I would say that they can kick up a little bit when you dip your brush in, but not hardly as much as their other matte shadows!

DSCN164333.jpg

Now onto the shades! There is clearly enough shades in this palette for everyone and their mothers. This palette is one that is going to suit a whole variety of skin tones. It covers every undertone and it is great to have everything in one place! What I especially love is that there is a highlight bright enough for us porcelain skin tones, and a transition shade that is also not too dark! The one shade that looks deceiving is that matte black. In the pan, this shade looks like a rich navy, still gorgeous nonetheless! When you actually swatch it and apply it to your eyes then it is definitely a matte black. It is amazing how they created this magical illusion but somehow it works!

DSCN1647.JPG

Overall I just love this palette. Everyone needs some good matte eye shadows in their collection and for such an amazing price this is definitely a great pick. The brush is better quality than those other applicators but is still pretty cheap. It does the job, but it’s not my first pick of brushes. I would definitely recommend this palette. The smoothness and blendability is really impressive and the shade range is perfect. This is definitely a new staple in my collection!

Swatches

DSCN1641.JPG

______________________________________

I hope you found this review helpful,  and can we just take a moment to appreciate those swatches?! P.s let’s also ignore the fact that I caught one of the swatches on something! It’s been driving me insane! 

Until next time,

123xoxo

5 thoughts on “Makeup Revolution Light & Shade Eye Shadow Palette Review

  1. That was a great review! I just looked Kat von D palettes the other day. I love quality makeup but I hate the prices. It’s so good that dupes exists, right? 🍁🎃

    Like

Leave a Reply

