Festive New Years Eve Makeup

I still cannot believe how quick this time of year has come, I hope everyone is having a lovely Christmas! This year I tried to avoid putting up any Christmas looks as I feel like there are already so many out there and so many good ones that you really don’t need another one! I do however want to share with you a festive NYE makeup look, something sparkly and glamorous but still super festive to keep me in the Christmas spirit. This look consists of a bit of glitter, plus all those gold/green/red tones but in a super wearable way! It may also look like there are a lot of steps and products, but this makeup is really light to wear, and even though it looks like a lot of makeup I use light layers so nothing gets cakey. This is how you can get this look…

__________________

img_4993

To begin with, I primed my skin with the Maybelline Baby Skin Pore Eraser Primer.  This is a great primer to use to smooth out the skin and reduce the appearance of pores. It has a very silky smooth, silicone-like feel to it but I really enjoy it! I have also been trying out a new technique that Wayne Goss has been talking about, so using my Collection Invisible Setting Powder and put a very light layer over my primer. This is supposed to help with oil control. I was a little bit weary as rule #1 in makeup is creams first then powders, but I wanted to try it as my skin has been rather oily recently. I then use my Revlon Colourstay Foundation in 150 Buff and apply this all over my face with my damp sponge. I have been scraping the bottom of my Urban Decay Naked Skin Concealer as this is literally the best concealer of life and I cannot find anything as good as it, I just applied this under my eyes as I didn’t have enough to highlight! Ha! To set my makeup in place, I have been using a mixture of my Maybelline Matte Maker Powder for all over my face, and then for my highlighted areas I have been using my Makeup Obsession E105 White Out Eye Shadow. I found this little gem in Boots for £2, the pan size is so big and I thought it would be great for highlighting the face without having to use concealer. I love the effect that this gives.

img_4994

Once my face is fully set and bullet proof, I wanted to add some definition back into my face and bring out my features. I started by contouring using my Nyx Taupe Blush. This blush is so much darker than I anticipated and is also extremely pigmented so I have to use a very light hand. This literally chisels out your features so well however and I am enjoying it so far! I have been skipping blush recently, simply because I just haven’t been feeling like wearing blush, so instead I went straight into highlight. I of course mixed both Champagne Pop and Pearl Shimmering Skin Perfector by Becca and hit the highest points of my face… cheekbones, tip of nose, cupids bow etc etc. I then quickly filled in my brows using my Nyx Micro Brow Pencil  and finishing them off using my L’Oreal Brow Mascara.

img_4995

Now for the eyes I had a very specific vision. I was actually inspired by a smaller YouTuber called Tania Waller who creates amazing eye shadow looks. She recently uploaded a holiday look which included this sheer glitter which I really loved the idea of. I thought it was so pretty that instead of intense glitter like you see everywhere this time of year, it was like a light wash that just gives the eyes some sparkle but isn’t too in your face and is super wearable. The look I created needed a much smaller skill level than her look and was super simple, but she created a beautiful more dramatic look with a wing. For the shadows I used a newer product of mine, the Rimmel Magnif’eyes Eye Contouring Palette. This palette is called 001 Keep Calm & Wear Gold. I have recently purchased this as something about it has been calling out to me. It actually took me a while to purchase this however as I am a little weary about ‘drugstore’ eye shadow palettes, but this one I decided to give a go as I love the shades and there is a transition shade in this palette that I love the look of and I am struggling to find in any other palettes. My eyes were already primed with my concealer and I just powdered over top of them. The first of the two shades I used was the second one from the left, this transition shade is the perfect neutral/cool toned brown but is light enough for us fair skin tones without looking too heavy in the crease. I applied this all over my crease and made sure it looked really blown out and blended. I then took the third shade from the right, which is a deeper chocolate brown and applied this to the outer third of my eye over the lid and up to the crease, continuing to blend this out until it was really soft. To add that pop of green I used a matte deep green from the Fortune Favours The Brave palette, I just buffed this lightly on my lower lash line to add a hint of green and continue the festive theme.  I then took my Collection Glam Crystals Glitter Liner in the shade 3 Funk which is a gorgeous gold shade. I applied this generously to the inner third of my eye making sure to get plenty of glitter in that area. I then used my finger and quickly (before it sets) just patted over the glitter liner to disperse it over my lid all the way up to the brow and out towards the centre of my eye. I love how this gave a sheer glitter look so that every time you turned it would catch the light, but looked so subtle and pretty. I made sure to pat only however and not rub as I didn’t want to ruin the eye shadow that was underneath it. I then applied my Ardell Whispies and popped on a touch of mascara.

img_4999

Finally for the lips I have two lip options. The first one is a nude, and the second is something a little more festive. As the eyes are really subtle and wearable I wanted to show you how it would look with a natural lip colour and then a more bold lip colour. The first shade I used was Mac Honey Love. This lip colour is by far my all time favourite nude, and it goes beautifully with any makeup look. The next shade is ColourPop Love Bug Ultra Matte Lip and I must apologise as me and this liquid lip have a bit of a love affair going on and I just cannot put it down!

img_5002

I then finished off with a bit of my Maybelline Super Stay 24 Setting Spray and that completes the look…

__________________________

I hope you enjoyed this look and until next time lovelies…

cropped-0122.png

7 thoughts on “Festive New Years Eve Makeup

Leave a Reply

